Infections! Who Needs Them?

Earlier this month I underwent a minor surgical procedure to help me battle sinus infections.  No open wound, no cuts to my belly which I know are painful recoveries, no long stay in the hospital, just a little adjustment on my sinuses, and then some rest at home. In fact, I found myself looking forward to some time off, as my schedule had been full following Christmas.

A marvelous surgical instrument called an endoscope was used to remove some infected sinus tissue so additional infected material will easily drain from my sinus cavities. I’ll spare you the details but anytime you remove something that is infected, things are messy. For the next few weeks, it is important that I follow doctor’s instructions to avoid any additional infection or complications.

If only I could remove other infections from my life as easily.

I’m talking about those infections that pop up when you least expect them and can’t be treated with any antibiotics. These infections encourage me to say the wrong words or make selfish, inappropriate decisions that end up hurting people. It is as though my entire body is infected with a most unwelcome guest.

This guest has many names including, Satan, Beelzebub, Lucifer, Devil, Evil One, Father of lies and in Revelation 9:11 he is called “destruction.” There is nothing flattering about his names or the nasty work he does. Every sinus infection I’ve had in my life time has come without warning and given me nothing but trouble for a week or two. On the other hand, Satan’s infections often come to me with my conscience warning me, “Don’t go there” and all too often I do go there. And then I’ve got real trouble!

There is a remedy for Satan’s infections. There is an antibiotic that will work every time without question. It called Jesus Christ who has already conquered Satan’s worst infections. Jesus is available 24/7 without appointment and he has no deductible to meet. In fact, now that I think about it, Jesus does drain Satan’s infections from my life. It is just that I have a nasty habit of inviting his infection back in.

I’ll see you in church – infection free!
Pastor Tom
A joyful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones. (Proverbs 17:22)

Author: Pastor Tom

Pastor Tom Acton

Leave a Reply

