Tonight’s Summer Meal!

I just have to share an invitation that’s on Immanuel’s website:

The entire community is invited to a no-cost Community Meal on Thursday, July 27 from 5:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. at Immanuel Lutheran Church & School in Palatine. Immanuel will be serving up “good ole-summertime” favorites: food and fun. The menu? Hamburgers, hotdogs, pasta salad, green salad, baked beans, chips, lemonade and iced tea. Popular picnic games will be available for all to play.

Yes, we’re hosting another Community Meal tonight!  We hope to hold the event outdoors, but are prepared to hold it indoors if the weather makes that necessary. We’re ready either way. We’re serving our community and we’re growing. Pastor Warren is leading a great team of volunteers and they are serving these meals entirely through donations. People and companies have been generous with their time and resources, and I’m grateful.

Pastor Warren, me, Mary Sandner, and Pastor Donald at the January Community Meal.

Mary Sandner founded the Community Meal in Barrington. Mary’s vision of providing for friends, families, and others in Barrington has now expanded to Palatine. This is Immanuel’s fourth time hosting the Community Meal. Many other sites host the Community Meal too – the list is on the Community Meal website – and I hope you have the chance to visit one.

Immanuel’s intentional outreach to the community is growing and I’m thrilled to be a part of it. I can’t say it enough — the temptation is always to remain in one’s own comfort zone, in a setting that is very familiar and to simply let someone else help. However that isn’t what Christ had in mind when he said,

For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me . . . Matthew 25:35

I hope you can join us tonight, whatever the weather!  Details can be found at Immanuelpalatine.org/community-meal.

See you in church, and tonight at dinner!
Pastor Tom

Author: DB

Pastor Tom Acton

Leave a comment