Temptation

One of my favorite bumper stickers. Temptation is daily experience for all of us. Where does it come from? Does God tempt us? This is what I want to talk about this weekend!

I’m preaching on temptation this weekend.  I planned it to the best of my human ability.  I titled my sermon “To Tempt” and the text focuses on Mark 1:9-15.  There’s a spot in the worship bulletin called  “As We Gather” and its intent is to help you, the worshiper, focus on the text as well.  I wrote that too:

As We Gather
Lent is the time when we follow the journey of Jesus to the cross. Today we follow as he is tempted, as the Devil tries to convince Jesus to steer away from the course of undeserved suffering and death. We see Jesus come through this period of temptation, and our faith is renewed as he faces the cross of Calvary.

The most important part of my planning for this weekend however, is prayer. I know I need the Holy Spirit to guide my words this weekend…that hasn’t changed in all these years of preaching. I know the people in the congregation are facing temptations that are all over the spectrum. I know very well what some of the people are facing, for they have confided in me. That is humbling. Others I know not at all.  That is also humbling.  What really humbles me however is that preaching on temptation could help someone to know who Jesus is!  That is why I must put my full trust in the Holy Spirit.

What better way to close this post than with the text for the weekend?

The Baptism of Jesus
In those days Jesus came from Nazareth of Galilee and was baptized by John in the Jordan. And when he came up out of the water, immediately he saw the heavens being torn open and the Spirit descending on him like a dove.  And a voice came from heaven, “You are my beloved Son; with you I am well pleased.”

The Temptation of Jesus
The Spirit immediately drove him out into the wilderness. And he was in the wilderness forty days, being tempted by Satan. And he was with the wild animals, and the angels were ministering to him.

Jesus Begins His Ministry
Now after John was arrested, Jesus came into Galilee, proclaiming the gospel of God, and saying, “The time is fulfilled, and the kingdom of God is at hand; repent and believe in the gospel.” Mark 1:9-15 (ESV)

See you in church this weekend!
Pastor Tom

Author: DB

Pastor Tom Acton

One thought on “Temptation”

  1. I can’t imagine the temptations and distractions that happen as you map out such a sermon. Thanks for speaking on this topic- temptation effects all-ages in profound ways. In the midst of doing wrong things, can we be “tempted” to do the right thing? Perhaps that’s not temptation but something else. Praying for you as you prepare!

Leave a comment